61G6-9.004. Continuing Education Requirements for Renewal for Certificateholders and Registrants  


Effective on Tuesday, April 30, 2019
  • 1(1) Each person who is certified or registered by the Board must, as a condition of each renewal of the certificate or registration, provide proof of completion of at least 14 classroom hours of continuing education in one or more courses approved by the Board.

    46(2) A person who holds more than one certificate or registration issued by the Board is required to complete the continuing education requirements only once during each biennial period. Proof of completion by any such person must be submitted with each renewal application.

    89(3) A person certified or registered by the Board who is also certified under chapter 468, part XII, F.S., as a building official, inspector, or plans examiner shall be required to complete the continuing education requirements only once during each biennial period.

    131(4) A person initially licensed 12 or more months prior to the end of a biennial period is required to complete 7 hours of continuing education as a condition of renewal. Of the 7 hours of continuing education, 6 of the hours must be in the following areas: 2 hours technical, 1 hour business, 1 hour worker’s compensation, 1 hour work place safety, and 1 hour laws and rules. For alarm system contractors and electrical contractors actively engaged in alarm contracting, the remaining 1 hour shall be in false alarm prevention. For all other license holders, the remaining 1 hour shall be a general continuing education credit.

    238(5) A person initially licensed for less than 12 months prior to the end of a biennial period need not complete any continuing education as a condition of renewal.

    267(6) A licensee may obtain a maximum of 7 hours of continuing education credits by taking a home study course. A minimum passing score of 75% must be obtained to receive the required CE credits.

    302(7)(a) A minimum of one of the 14 required classroom hours of continuing education must be obtained by completing an approved provider’s specialized or advanced module course, approved by the Florida Building Commission, on any portion of the Florida Building Code, relating to the contractor’s respective discipline.

    349(b) No less than one (1) of the 14 required classroom hours of continuing education shall be in the area of the laws and rules related to electrical and alarm contracting in the State of Florida. 385For the purposes of this rule, the laws and rules governing the practice of electrical and alarm contracting are 404chapters 455 and 489, part II, F.S., and rule division 61G6, F.A.C.

    416(8) During any biennial period, a licensee may obtain credit for taking a particular approved continuing education course only once.

    436Rulemaking Authority 438455.2124, 439489.507(3), 440489.517(6) FS. 442Law Implemented 444455.2124, 445489.517(3), 446(6) FS. History–New 11-30-94, Amended 4-22-01, 8-15-04, 1-30-05, 8-10-05, 8-15-06, 3-27-13, 2-5-15, 4-30-19.