61J1-4.003. Continuing Education  


Effective on Wednesday, October 16, 2019
  • 1(1) All registered, licensed and certified appraisers must satisfactorily complete a minimum of 30 hours of 50 minutes each of appraiser continuing education as prescribed or approved by the Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board, without duplication of material, during each renewal period as defined in rule 4761J1-2.002, 48F.A.C. The 30 hours shall include the 7-hour National USPAP update course or its equivalent and shall be taught by an AQB certified USPAP instructor, without significant duplication of material, as defined in section 82475.611(1)(q), F.S. 84A minimum of 3 hours shall be dedicated to a review and update of the Florida Real Estate Appraisal Law and Board Rules, and provide an introduction to other state and federal laws affecting real estate appraisals.

    121A registered, licensed or certified appraiser is not required to complete the 30 hours of continuing education as a condition for initial registration, licensure or certification renewal if the time between the effective date on the initial registration, license or certificate and the beginning of the initial registration, licensure or certificate renewal is less than 6 months. Registered appraisers who comply with the Post Licensure requirements and Florida laws and rule update, as set forth in rule 19861J1-4.009, 199F.A.C., are not required to complete any additional continuing education for that renewal cycle.

    213(2) The Board shall approve for appraisal continuing education credit any course, seminar or conference in the real estate appraisal practice area provided by national or state recognized appraisal organization, accredited university, college, community college, area technical center, state or federal agency or commission or proprietary real estate school. The course will be approved for 24 months. A course may not be offered after the expiration date except for a course that is begun before the expiration date may be completed even if the completion date is after the expiration date. The criteria for approval shall be as set out in subsection (3), below.

    317(3) Satisfactory completion of the Board prescribed or approved continuing education course or courses of classroom instruction is demonstrated by successfully meeting standards established for each Board prescribed course. These standards for approval of continuing education courses for appraisers shall be that the course or courses contain at least 2 hours of instruction and cover real estate appraisal related topics such as ad valorem taxation, arbitration, business courses related to real estate appraisal, construction estimating, ethics and standards of professional practice, land use planning, zoning and taxation, management, leasing, brokerage, timesharing, property development, real estate appraisal (valuations/evaluations), real estate financing and investment, real estate law, real estate litigation, real estate appraisal related computer applications, real estate securities and syndication, and real property exchange.

    440(a) A copy of the course application and all course materials shall be submitted to the Board for evaluation at least 90 days prior to use. The Board will issue a status report to the course provider within 60 days after submission of the course. Approval must be granted before the course and examinations, if required, may be offered. It is the responsibility of the institution, school, or entity offering the Board approved courses to keep the course materials current and accurate, and notify the Board at least 90 days before implementing any significant changes to the course during its approval period.

    542(b) The national or state recognized appraisal organization, accredited university, college, community college, area technical center, state or federal agency or commission, or proprietary real estate school offering these Board prescribed or approved courses shall fully inform each student of the standards and requirements at the commencement of each course by providing each student a course syllabus that clearly states the course objective(s) and explains the desired learning outcomes. At least 70% of the desired learning outcomes shall be at the application level or higher. No more than 10% of the desired learning objectives shall be at the knowledge level. Notice of course completion shall be made as prescribed by the Board in rule 65661J1-4.005, 657F.A.C.

    658(c) For purposes of this rule, “application level” is defined as the ability to use the learned material in a completely new and concrete situation. It usually involves the application of rules, policies, methods, computations, laws, theories, or any other relevant and available information.

    702(d) For purposes of this rule, “knowledge level” is defined as recalling specific facts, patterns, methods, terms, rules, dates, formulas, names, or other information that must be committed to memory.

    732(4)(a) The continuing education courses required in this rule may be satisfied by a Board approved equivalent distance education course. Distance education is education that takes place when the learner is separated from the source of instruction by time and/or distance. Such distance education course subject matter, assignment work, scholastic standards and other related requirements shall be evaluated in the same manner as the course offered by classroom instruction, having due regard however, to the different method of presentation. The institution offering distance education courses must provide proof of certification of the delivery method by an independent certified organization approved by the AQB.

    835(b) A copy of the distance education course materials and a copy of each form of the course examination that will be administered to students shall be submitted to the Board for evaluation and approval at least 90 days prior to use. A minimum of 2 course examinations for each course shall be submitted for approval. The Board will issue a status report to the course provider within 60 days after submission of the course and examinations. Approval must be granted before the course and examinations may be offered. Thereafter, the course and examinations shall be maintained by each institution, school, or entity offering the distance education course(s) in accordance with the Board approved standard as subsequently modified by changing times, standards and laws. It is the responsibility of the institution, school or entity offering the Board approved distance education courses to keep the course material current and accurate, and notify the Board at least 90 days before implementing any significant changes to the course during its approval period.

    1004(c) Satisfactory completion of the Board prescribed continuing education course(s) through distance education is demonstrated by achieving a grade of 80% or higher on the Board approved examination. Students failing the Board prescribed course examination must repeat the Board prescribed distance education course of study prior to being eligible to again take the course examination, which must be a different examination from the one the student previously failed.

    1072(d) The objective of the distance education course examination is to test fairly and reliably whether students have learned essential facts and concepts from the course. This examination shall consist of a minimum of 3 questions per instructional hour. All questions shall be multiple choice with 4 answer choices each. The order of the examination questions may not follow the sequence of the course content. The answer key must reference the page number(s) containing the information on which each question and correct answer is based. The answer key must be unique for each form of the examination. At least 70% 1172of the questions on each form of the test shall be at the application level or higher. No more than 10% of the questions on each form of the test shall be at the knowledge level. The examination shall comply with the Item Writing Guidelines as of 1219January 29, 2004, 1222incorporated herein reference.

    1225(e) In all Board approved continuing education courses by distance education, the institution, school or entity shall provide to students an address, telephone number, or e-mail address of a Board approved instructor to answer inquiries.

    1260(f) Continuing education courses by distance education will be approved for 24 months at which point the course will expire unless submitted to the Board and approved for renewal. Courses may not be offered or distributed after the expiration date. Students must be notified of the course expiration date upon receipt of the course materials.

    1315(5) The 1317Florida 1318institution, organization, permitted real estate school or Board approved entity offering these Board prescribed or approved courses shall fully inform each student of the standards, requirements and criteria at the commencement of each course. Each student shall receive a copy of the most current course approval letter, issued by the Board, at the commencement of each course. Notice of course completion shall be as prescribed by rule 138561J1-4.005, 1386F.A.C.

    1387(6) These Board prescribed or approved courses shall be offered by a nationally or state recognized appraisal organization, area technical centers, accredited university, college and community college, state or federal agency or commission, or proprietary real estate school that holds a permit pursuant to section 1432475.451, F.S., 1434or at a place approved by the Board. Satisfactory completion of these courses will not entitle any person to renew a registration, license or certification until such person has met all requirements of law.

    1468(7) A registrant, licensee, or certificate holder, including a Board member, 1479who attends an entire meeting where the Board considers disciplinary cases shall 1491earn 1492once during a renewal cycle, a minimum of 1500five (5) classroom hours 1504of continuing education credit, 1508provided that, the individual is not appearing as a party to a disciplinary action and notifies the Division of Real Estate, Education Section, of the intent to attend at least seven (7) days prior to the meeting. 1545If the meeting lasts more than five hours, the licensee shall earn seven (7) classroom hours of the required thirty (30) hours of continuing education.

    1570(8) Credit towards the continuing education requirement of this rule may also be satisfied by teaching Board approved appraisal courses. Credit shall only be granted on a one-time basis per renewal cycle for teaching a particular appraisal course and shall be limited to 50% of the required classroom hours for that renewal cycle. The Board may request supportive documentation to ascertain course content and to verify the date(s), time, place and hours taught.

    1643Rulemaking Authority 1645475.613(2), 1646475.614 FS. 1648Law Implemented 1650475.613, 1651475.618, 1652475.628 FS. 1654History–New 10-15-91, Amended 4-21-92, 6-7-92, Formerly 21VV-4.003, Amended 11-3-94, 9-5-96, 4-6-98, 9-6-98, 9-14-00, 10-22-01, 3-31-02, 5-25-04, 5-15-05, 1-8-06, 12-4-06, 12-6-07, 6-7-10, 7-17-11, 4-9-13, Amended 11-17-15, 10-16-19.

     

Historical Versions(7)

Select effective date to view different version.