64B20-2.003. Provisional Licensure; Requirements  


Effective on Sunday, October 23, 2016
  • 1(1) A provisional license shall be required prior to initiating the professional employment experience required pursuant to Section 19468.1165, F.S., 21and Rule 2364B20-2.004, 24F.A.C.

    25(2) Any person desiring to receive a provisional license to practice speech-language pathology or audiology shall apply to the Department of Health and pay the fee required by Rule 5464B20-3.002, 55F.A.C. The application shall be made on Form DH-SPA-2, Application for Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology Provisional Licensure, which is incorporated by reference herein, revised (07/16), and can be obtained from 85http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-07462, 87or the Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, Department of Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C06, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3256 or at http://floridasspeechaudiology.gov/resources/. The Department shall notify the applicant by letter of any deficiencies in the application within 30 days after the application is filed. The applicant shall rectify all deficiencies in the application within one year from the date of such letter or the application will be processed as an incomplete application and the application file will be closed.

    167(3) The Board shall certify to the Department as eligible to receive a provisional license those applicants who have completed the application form, remitted the nonrefundable application fee as required by Rule 19964B20-3.002, 200F.A.C., the provisional license fee required by Rule 20864B20-3.005, 209F.A.C., and who have demonstrated to the Board that they have met the educational requirements contained in Rule 22764B20-2.002, 228F.A.C.

    229(4) In addition to the application form, candidates for a provisional license shall also complete Form DH-SPA-2A, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and/or Audiology Verification of Employment for a Provisional Licensee, which is incorporated by reference herein, revised October, 2012, and can be obtained from 273http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-02876, 275or the Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, Department of Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, #C06, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3256 or at http://floridasspeechaudiology.gov/resources/. Said form shall provide the following:

    303(a) Evidence that the professional employment shall include assessment, habilitation and rehabilitation activities with clients.

    318(b) Evidence that the activities performed by the provisional licensee shall be monitored and evaluated by an individual with an active license in the same area for which provisional licensure is being sought. The evaluation may be conducted by more than one (1) licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist. In such cases, one licensee shall assume the responsibility to organize and verify that the policies concerning supervision and evaluation are met.

    388(5) A provisional license shall be valid for a period of 21 months from the date of issuance or until a license to practice Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology pursuant to Section 419468.1185, F.S., 421is issued, whichever occurs first.

    426Rulemaking Authority 428456.013, 429468.1135(4), 430468.1145(2), 431(5) FS. Law Implemented 435456.013, 436456.0635(2), 437468.1145(2), 438(5), 439468.1155(4) FS. 441History–New 3-14-91, Amended 12-4-91, Formerly 21LL-2.003, Amended 11-30-93, Formerly 61F14-2.003, Amended 9-26-95, Formerly 59BB-2.003, Amended 11-20-07, 6-1-09, 4-18-10, 7-13-13, 10-23-16.

     

Rulemaking Events:

Historical Versions(5)

Select effective date to view different version.

Reference Materials (2)